Houses for Sale in Cavan: Listings, Prices and Property Types
If you have spent an evening scrolling Cavan listings, you have probably noticed that asking prices and sale prices rarely tell the same story. Daft.ie (Irish property portal) records 2,312 properties sold in Cavan, so this article checks the asking prices against a real sold record and marks which numbers are still open.
Properties listed for sale in Virginia, Cavan (Daft.ie snapshot): 30 · Properties sold in Cavan (Daft.ie sold-properties page): 2,312 · Results for County Cavan at €50,000+ (Propertynews snapshot): 164 · Recently added listings in Cavan Town (Propertypal snapshot): 49
Quick snapshot
- Virginia, Cavan shows 30 properties for sale (Daft.ie, Irish property portal) (Propertynews (regional listings portal))
- County Cavan at €50,000+ returns 164 results (Propertynews (regional listings portal))
- 2,312 properties sold in Cavan (Daft.ie, Irish property portal) (Propertynews (regional listings portal))
- €589m across 83 deals in 2025 (Savills Ireland research (property consultancy))
- Snapshot dates for the portal counts and prices were not supplied
- Whether Savills’ €7m average size reflects typical Cavan homes (it does not, per the Savills figures)
- How large the gap is between asking and final sale prices in Cavan
- The 164 Propertynews results at €50,000+ come from a snapshot with no stated date
- No dated timeline is available in the source set for this article
- The Savills totals cover 2025, the most recent year named in the figures (Savills Ireland research, property consultancy)
- Check local residential permissions with Cavan County Council (local planning authority)
- Check estate agent licences with Property Services Regulatory Authority (estate agent regulator)
Eight figures, one pattern: the portals quote asking prices and listing counts, and the only sold figure sits on a separate page with no price pairing.
| Label | Value |
|---|---|
| Asking price, 4-bed detached house, County Cavan | €180,000 (Propertynews, snapshot) |
| Asking price, 3-bed semi-detached house, Cavan Town | from €395,000 (Propertypal, snapshot) |
| Properties sold in Cavan | 2,312 (Daft.ie sold-properties page) |
| Cavan property for sale, 2025 total | €589m across 83 deals, average size €7m (Savills) |
| Properties for sale, Virginia, Cavan | 30 (Daft.ie, snapshot) |
| Results, County Cavan at €50,000+ | 164 (Propertynews, snapshot) |
| Recently added listings, Cavan Town | 49 (Propertypal, snapshot) |
| Snapshot dates for portal counts | Not supplied in the source set |
Which houses for sale in Cavan are the cheapest?
Cheap houses for sale in Cavan: what current listings show
- Propertynews lists a 4-bed detached house in County Cavan at €180,000, according to its snapshot (Propertynews, regional listings portal).
- Propertypal lists a 3-bed semi-detached house in Cavan Town from €395,000 (Propertypal, Cavan listings portal).
- Both figures are asking prices, not final sale prices.
The €180,000 figure is the lowest detached price in the snapshots reviewed, but it is not a county-wide floor. The Propertynews search returned 164 results for County Cavan at €50,000 and above, so cheaper stock exists in the portal’s own data (Propertynews, regional listings portal).
How to read price ranges on property portals
A price filter sets the search window, not the value of the homes inside it. A portal records what a seller asked on the day of capture, so a buyer who treats that figure as a sale price will misjudge the market.
The implication: a low search result is a starting point for a viewing and a negotiation, not evidence of a bargain.
What are detached houses for sale in Cavan like?
Typical detached house listings in Cavan
- A 4-bed, 3-bath detached house of 135 m² carries an asking price of €335,000 on the Daft.ie sold-properties page.
- A 4-bed detached house in County Cavan is listed at €180,000 (Propertynews, regional listings portal).
- The 135 m² floor area is the advertiser’s figure, not an independent measurement.
Those two detached asking prices sit €155,000 apart. The listings do not show whether they are in the same part of the county, so the gap cannot be read as a local price difference.
Detached homes compared with semi-detached listings
Detached listings in these sources carry a stated floor area, while the 3-bed semi-detached listing from Propertypal does not. That leaves buyers with a price for the semi and no size to measure it against.
The implication: a detached listing lets a buyer test the ask against measured space, while the semi-detached listing asks for trust in the price alone.
Where can I find rural houses for sale in Cavan?
Rural houses for sale in Cavan by owner
- The Daft.ie listing page for Virginia, Cavan shows 30 properties for sale, houses and apartments (Daft.ie, Irish property portal).
- Owner-sold listings sit apart from agent-marketed listings on the portals reviewed (Propertynews, regional listings portal).
Before paying any deposit, confirm the seller’s identity. Agent licensing is checked through the Property Services Regulatory Authority (estate agent regulator), which regulates estate agents and auctioneers in Ireland.
3-bedroom houses for sale in Cootehill, Cavan by owner
The source set for this article includes no priced 3-bedroom Cootehill listing. Treat any by-owner Cootehill advert as one data point until a second listing confirms the price.
The implication: rural and by-owner listings widen the choice, but they move the due-diligence work onto the buyer.
How do repossessed houses for sale in Cavan work?
Repossessed houses for sale in Cavan and Cootehill
In general terms, a repossessed property is sold by a lender or receiver after a borrower defaults on a secured loan. The source set does not cite a source for that definition, so treat it as an explanation rather than a sourced finding.
- The Central Bank of Ireland (national financial regulator) publishes mortgage arrears statistics that give context on repossession pressure. Check its latest release for current figures.
- The source set for this article includes no priced repossessed listing in Cavan or Cootehill.
What buyers should check before bidding on a repossessed home
The seller’s legal role and the contract terms determine what a buyer actually acquires. On a repossessed home, the contract tells a buyer more than the listing price does.
- Confirm whether the seller is a lender or a receiver.
- Read the sale terms in the contract documents before committing.
The pattern: repossession sales move the due diligence onto the buyer, so the cheapest-looking option often carries the most paperwork.
Are there new houses for sale in Cavan?
New build listings in Cavan
- Savills reports €589m across 83 deals for Cavan property in 2025, with an average size of €7m (Savills Ireland research, property consultancy).
- The Savills total does not describe typical homes in Cavan (Savills Ireland research, property consultancy).
- Planning records from Cavan County Council (local planning authority) show residential permissions, which is the council’s record of the new-build pipeline.
Checking BER ratings on new homes
The BER certificate is the one energy figure a buyer can compare across new and older homes. Ask for the certificate before comparing a new build with a second-hand listing.
The catch: the largest Cavan figure in the sources reflects a small number of large deals, so it tells a buyer little about a three-bedroom home in Cootehill.
Eight figures and seven listing types were reviewed, and the spec table below shows where each sits.
| Listing type | Asking price | Detail | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4-bed detached, County Cavan | €180,000 | Snapshot listing, floor area not stated | Propertynews |
| 3-bed semi-detached, Cavan Town | from €395,000 | BER-rated listing, floor area not stated | Propertypal |
| 4-bed, 3-bath detached | €335,000 | 135 m², advertiser’s figure | Daft.ie |
| Houses and apartments, Virginia, Cavan | Not stated | 30 properties for sale | Daft.ie |
| County Cavan, €50,000+ | Not stated | 164 results | Propertynews |
| Cavan Town, recently added | Not stated | 49 listings | Propertypal |
| 3-bed by owner, Cootehill | No priced listing in source set | Not available | Not available |
Confirmed facts
- 30 properties for sale in Virginia, Cavan (Daft.ie snapshot)
- 164 results for County Cavan at €50,000+ (Propertynews snapshot)
- 2,312 properties sold in Cavan (Daft.ie sold-properties page)
- €589m across 83 deals in Cavan in 2025 (Savills)
What’s unclear
- Snapshot dates for each portal count and price
- Whether the Savills average of €7m reflects typical homes in Cavan
- The size of the gap between asking prices and final sale prices in Cavan
- Whether a BER certificate is required on every Cavan listing, because the source set does not name a source for that requirement
- Repossessed and Cootehill 3-bedroom prices, because no priced listing appeared in the source set
Savills reports €589m across 83 deals for Cavan property in 2025, with an average size of €7m.
Savills Ireland research team, Savills (property consultancy)
Cavan County Council planning records show residential permissions, which is the council’s record of the new-build pipeline.
Cavan County Council planning office, Cavan County Council (local planning authority)
The Property Services Regulatory Authority regulates estate agents and auctioneers in Ireland, which is the basis for checking agent licensing before a deposit.
Property Services Regulatory Authority, Property Services Regulatory Authority (estate agent regulator)
For buyers in Cavan, the practical rule is to treat each asking price as a starting point, check it against a sold figure and a second listing, and confirm the seller before paying a deposit. Buyers who skip those checks carry the gap between ask and sale themselves.
Frequently asked questions
How many houses for sale in Cavan are listed at one time?
No single current total is available. The snapshots show 30 properties for sale in Virginia and 164 results for County Cavan at €50,000 and above, with no snapshot dates supplied.
What does a BER rating on a Cavan listing indicate?
A BER rating is an energy performance grade. The source set does not include the grading scale, so check the certificate itself rather than relying on the listing summary.
Do listed asking prices in Cavan match final sale prices?
Not necessarily. Asking prices are advertised figures, and the Daft.ie sold-properties page records 2,312 sales in Cavan without pairing each sale with its listing price.
Which public Irish sources publish house price data for County Cavan?
The sources reviewed for this article do not include an official house price index for County Cavan. The Central Bank of Ireland publishes mortgage arrears statistics, and Cavan County Council publishes planning records.
What should buyers check before viewing a house for sale in Cavan?
Confirm the seller’s identity, check agent licensing with the Property Services Regulatory Authority, request the BER certificate, and note the snapshot date of any price you rely on.
Related reading: